In memory of my brother …

I’ve spent hours on this blog writing about public records and the need to dig up information. I wish I had spent that much time getting another kind of information – information about my family.

I’m not talking about public records. I’m talking about picking up the phone and calling my family to see how they’re doing, finding out what’s new in their lives and making sure to say “I love you.” In the end, that’s the only kind of information that really matters.

I lost my youngest brother, Kenneth, on Feb. 24, in what we believe was a tragic accidental fall. It was his 24th birthday. You can read a story about his life here.

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t written a blog in awhile. The last time I posted anything on here was Feb. 23, the day before he passed away. I almost called my brother that day, but I decided to wait until the next day since it was his birthday. Looking back, I wish I had put the computer down and called him.

There’s nothing I can say that will bring him back, but I want to urge you to call your family. Ask about their lives and really listen when they answer. I know this has nothing to do with public records, but it is about getting information. There are so many things I wish I could ask my brother now. So many things I’d like to tell him. The only thing I can do now is to cherish the rest of my family and to check in with them more often.

In the meantime, I plan to keep writing about public records because I know Kenneth would want me to keep going. But this time, I won’t hesitate to stop writing a blog so I can call someone I love.

I write this in memory of my wonderful, talented, loving brother, Kenneth Gregory Hinchcliffe. I love you.

3 comments

  1. Kelly,
    I am so sorry for your loss. I’ll keep your family in my thoughts and prayers. I lost my mom last fall, so I know you are feeling a big hole in your life. Cherish the memories you have of his life and of the time you spent together. I know your brother knew you loved him.

    Thanks for reminding us to reach out to those we love.

  2. Kelly-
    I am very proud of you for picking up your blog again. You are right. Kenneth would want you to write-and to keep DREAMING BIG.
    I love you and am ridiculously proud to call you my friend.

Leave a Reply

