N.C. State to review its public records policy

Yesterday, I wrote about my unhappiness with N.C. State University’s new public records policy, which I believe undermines the state public records law.

Today, I’m happy to report that N.C. State Chief Communications Officer Joe Hice has responded to my concerns. He writes:

“Kelly: Thanks for your comments and suggestions. I’ll make sure our legal office has a chance to review. Can’t guarantee what they might do, but they will have a chance to see them.”

I look forward to seeing how the legal team responds. As always, I’ll keep you updated when I hear something new.

*Update: Joe sent me the following note: “We will accept email requests and the new public records officer will work with my office on requests from the media.”

Leave a Reply

